Anyone likes Japanese manga or anime?

gothra

Happy Gecko Family
I like reading manga (translated, of course), so much that I started learning Japanese...anyone learning Japanese here?

John N

JCN Reptiles
I use to watch anime for a short period of time. I don't know Japanese, but I'm fluent in Vietnamese and a know very little Chinese.

M_surinamensis

Shillelagh Law
I like *some* anime, but it can generally be restricted to movies or series which are simply "Good Television" in a way that transcends the genre. Cowboy Bebop, Samurai Champloo, Trigun- these are just good shows regardless of where they were created. Still requires someone who doesn't mind animation and the occassional dubbing synch slip but they're well written, visually decent and the characters behave in more than one dimension.

The majority of anime and the oddball manga I have run into though has certain cultural barriers that I have difficulty getting around. The other series/movies I have attempted to watch and in some cases have watched in their entirety based on the reccomendations of others often had too many small, sometimes subtle, sometimes overt things which simply did not make sense within the American frame of refference. Tenchi (take your pick) for instance or I sat through the entire Nadesco series- they were simply "off" to my way of thinking and I found them unenjoyable as a result. Others just went too far almost immediately and I had to stop even attempting to watch it (Slayers for example, caused me to feel like I had a toothache in my eyeball).

GeckoStud

Fatty Fatty Boomballaty
I don't speak much japanese but i pick up a few pieces here and there.

I do absolutely love manga though, i dont even want to know how many comics i have...
Anime on the other hand is ok too, but only certain ones, like he said its a preference thing. Like that Bobobo show is just completely ... BLEAH.
Whereas, shows like Cowboy Bebop and Full Metal Alchemist are awesome in both story and art.