DEEEEEP Lighting Questions - Crested Gecko/Bioactive - New to the Scene

nickf1227

I am very happy to find this forum. I have much distaste for the infinite echo chamber that is Reddit :)

I've joined up to see what thoughts/opinions you guys may have on my lighting setup for a crested gecko.

I have been building a truly bioactive terrarium for the past several months. I'd be happy to share more about this if there are questions, it's just not relevant to the questions I have at the moment. But the TLDR; as far as microfauna and insects go, I have about a pound of red wrigglers and european night crawlers, a 1/4 pound of canadians, about 1000 isopods of various powder colors and dairy cows, about 500 tropical white springtails, about 200 orange springtails, about 100 "Florida orange" springtails. These were all well established over the course of time before investing in a larger animal. Potentially going to add some millipedes over time.

I also have a bunch of feeder insects, crickets, dubias and bsf larva, these populations may or may not colonize, we'll see how it goes, hopefully I have put in enough and have been providing enough food to keep these colonies stable as well. The goal is to minimize these as inputs and allow them to breed along side everything else to some degree, but I don't want them to outcompete the cleanup crew above.

About 2 weeks ago I bought my first Crested Gecko (or really any reptile) ever. I had most of the lighting already as part of my horticultural adventures, but obviously a reptile may require a bit different light than just plants and buggers.

First some of the videos I've watched as part of researching the lighting, links to several of their sources in video descriptions:

Frances Baines, UV

Roman Muryn, Reptiles & Infrared

Thomas Griffiths, Reptile Lighting guide

Andrew Huberman, Using Light to Optimize Health

Basic Red 660nm lights:

Basic Orange lights 600nm? lights:

Red/Infrared Lights, 660nm/850nm: