Guest Chat with Dr. Harkewicz Topic Crypto 3/11/07

BalloonzForU

Harkherp entered the room.

BalloonzForU: Hi Dr. Harkewicz
BalloonzForU: Where's marcia
BalloonzForU: Rules for guest chat
BalloonzForU: http://www.geckoforums.net/showthread.php?t=3341

BalloonzForU: Dr. Harkewicz are you ready to start?

Harkherp: yes

BalloonzForU: I'd like to take this time to thank you for taking the time to join us tonight, Dr. Harkewicz

Harkherp: glad to be here

BalloonzForU: Can you start off by telling us a little bit about yourself?

Harkherp: I'm an exotic animal vet at Berkeley Dog & Cat Hospital, in Berkeley Ca. I see reptiles and amphibians (about 60% of my practice).

BalloonzForU: How long have you been a exotic vet?

Harkherp: I've been practicing for 22 years, and have kept reptiles for close to 50 years!

BalloonzForU: That's awesome!!!

BalloonzForU: Ok, I'm going to go on to our members questions.

LeosForLess: Thank you Dr for being with us tonight, For those of us who dont know, //6 what exactly is Crypto?

Harkherp: It's a protozoal disease that affects reptiles as well as other animals. It causes gastroenteritis. In reptiles it's fatal, with no known cure.

bittner_344: well i would just like to thank you for being here. darnit paul you took my question lol. and dr, you answered my other question lmao. ok, hmm. how can reptiles aquire' crypto?

Harkherp: Usually they acquire it via a fecal/oral route. In other words, they eat something (fecal) that contains the protozoa. For example, an unclean/contaminated food item such as a cricket or mouse.

bittner_344: thanks for your time, but i have to go. good night dr, and everyone.

RoseT: Hello Dr. Harkewicz... what other animals can Crypto affect? Is my bird safe from it?

Harkherp: Avian species are usually immune from this organism. Their higher body temperature is probably protective.
Harkherp: Amphibians are also usually not affected.